My name is Sara, and this is my blog.

The title comes from a recipe in Alice Waters’ book The Art of Simple Food for poached kumquats. I tried my hand at the recipe after receiving a signed copy of the book for my birthday, and fell in love with these elegantly sweet golden discs. They are wonderful served on toast, ice cream, and even gingersnaps.

The thing about poached kumquats is that the recipe is SO easy, and yet they are so delicate and delicious. Coming back into writing after a many-year hiatus, I have decided to take a new approach to the craft; an approach of simplicity, of choosing the “less is more” attitude when writing memoirs and poetry. This blog is about that journey, about my experiences and optimisms and tribulations. I look forward to sharing these words with you, and hearing your words in exchange.

