Today, I am thinking about pleasure.

You know, the pleasure that fills your entire body, from the tips of your toes until it’s shooting out the top of your head, the pleasure that fills your heart until it is bursting through your chest cavity and radiating throughout the entire house.

That kind of pleasure.

There are dairy-free oatmeal-raisin cookies in the kitchen. The entire house smells of poppyseed and cinnamon. My cat is curled up on the rocking chair, tail flicking in a dream just enough to keep the chair moving, aiding her sleep. There are hamantaschen cooling on the table. The sun is shining so brightly against the neighbor’s roof I must squint to look out the window. There is stir-fry in my belly from a delicious home-made lunch. I have a bicycle ride downtown planned for the afternoon.

Yesterday evening I started re-reading The Joy Diet. The first step is Nothing. As I was enjoying the thoughts about doing nothing, I decided to try it. I thought I would try to do nothing.

I fell asleep.

When I woke up (an hour later), I was at first a little bummed, because my plan for doing nothing turned into doing something – sleeping. After a while, though, I started to realize that my nap was a result of doing nothing. I would not have realized that my body needed to rest if I had continued doing through my afternoon and evening. Certainly napping took a toll on my afternoon plans, but I was bone tired, and that nap felt wonderful.

So, I’m excited about re-engaging with the Joy Diet, and starting by doing nothing for a little bit each day.

But not right now. Right now, I am going to put cookies in a bin and take some photos of the wonderful vintage cameras my housemate unearthed from her basement — Including an enormous vivitar telephoto lens from before I was born. Photos to come soon!

PS: Thanks to Darlene for drawing my name to win a copy of Lanterns: A Gathering of Stories! I am so excited and cannot wait to share my insights into this incredible book!

