[tweetmeme source=”poachedkumquats” only_single=false]

Lately, I’ve been getting much more into utilizing Photoshop. I’m sort-of living in the Stone Age by still using my “old” version of CS2. In part, this is a preparation for my (hopefully soon) upgrade to CS5. It’s also in preparation for my anticipated ownership of a quality camera (Canon Rebel T1i) to take quality images as a photographer and photoethnographer.

So, today I’ve been playing with actions. It was a bright and sunny day, and there were dozens of tulips blooming on the Capitol lawn. So, I stopped and snapped a few images to play with when I arrived home. I also had a some images from a trip to the Como Conservatory in St. Paul taken several years ago. I thought they would be perfect for my first foray into using “actions” in Photoshop.

First, I downloaded a set of trial actions from Totally Rad Actions. I haven’t had ANY previous experience with using actions, so I went ahead and watched some of the tutorial videos on their site. Additionally, I used both my own Photoshop books, as well as some I have checked out from the library, so that I could feel like I really understood what I was doing in the process. Which, sometimes I did.

Here are the results:

Rose at Como, Olympus

Rose at Como, Olympus

Ladyslipper at Como, Olympus

Single Tulip on Capitol Lawn, Olympus

Field of Tulips on Capitol Lawn, Olympus

Budding Tulip on Capitol Lawn, Olympus

Flaming tulips on Capitol lawn, Olympus

What are some of your favorite actions?

*If you haven’t checked the list of books I am selling to fund my dreams, please do so, and email me with any requests!

