Roasted Green Beans, Fuji FinePix

[tweetmeme source=”poachedkumquats” only_single=false]

This afternoon, I came home from lazing about the Square after my usual trip to the Library. I wanted something for lunch that was quick, easy, and full of the flavors of Spring. Upon inspection of my refrigerator, I discovered some green beans and mushrooms in the vegetable drawer. Pairing those with some of my ramps, I created a fantastic dish I cannot wait to make again!

Roasted Green Beans with Ramps and Mushrooms
Serves 2

* 1/2 pound fresh green beans, washed and ends trimmed
* 1/4 pounds button or cremini mushrooms, ends trimmed, thinly sliced
* 2-3 ramps, leaves removed and sliced
* 1/4 cup olive oil
* 1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar
* Salt and pepper, to taste
* Roasted almonds, crushed (optional)

Roasted Green Beans, Fuji FinePix

Place the trimmed green beans in a medium bowl. Add olive oil and toss to coat. Add salt and pepper to taste, and toss again. Place under a ready broiler and roast, about 5 minutes, stirring halfway through. When their flesh starts to bubble, remove from broiler heat and let cool slightly on the pan.

To the olive oil/salt/pepper remaining in the bowl, add the balsamic vinegar and stir well to blend. To this bowl, add the ramps and mushrooms (and almonds). Toss gently, then add the green beans and toss once more to coat thoroughly. Serve when the green beans are still warm.

